My Favourites of 2013

It has been a ridiculously brilliant year for film and this list made all the more difficult by trips to FrightFest and LFF but I have stuck (as best I can) to 2013 releases. My favourite film of 2014, so far, is The Strange Colour of Your Body’s Tears (dir. Hélène Cattet and Bruno Forzani) and I implore all to see it when it is out in March. Anyway, I digress, in reverse order the films I have enjoyed most this year.

#13 After Lucia (2012, dir. Michel Franco)

afetr lucia

#12 Lore (2012, dir. Cate Shortland)

lore

#11 Laurence Anyways (2012, dir. Xavier Dolan)

Laurence-Anyways1

#10 Stoker (2013, dir. Park Chan-wook)

stoker

#9 Wadjda (2012, dir. Haifaa al-Mansour)

wadjda

#8 Simon Killer (2012, dir. Antonio Campos)

simon killer

#7 Beyond the Hills (2012, dir. Cristian Mungiu)

beyond_the_hills_1

#6 Bullhead (2012, dir. Michaël R. Roskam)

bullhead

#5 Frances Ha (2012, dir. Noah Baumbach)

frances-ha

#4 Blancanieves (2012, dir. Pablo Berger)

blancanieves

#3 Before Midnight (2013, dir. Richard Linklater)

beforemidnight

#2 Big Bad Wolves (2013, dir. Aharon Keshales & Narot Papushado)

big-bad-wolves-447115

#1 La Grande Bellezza (2013, dir. Paolo Sorrentino)

thegreatbeauty

Special mentions:

  • Django Unchained (2013, dir. Quentin Tarantino)
  • Spider Baby (1968, dir. Jack Hill)
  • Grabbers (2012, dir. Jon Wright)
  • I Wish (2011, dir. Koreeda Hirokazu)
  • Forbidden Games (1952, dir. René Clément)
  • The Hunt (2012, dir. Thomas Vinterberg)
  • Only God Forgives (2013, dir. Nicolas Winding-Refn)
  • A Field in England (2013, dir. Ben Wheatley)
  • Lake Mungo (2008, dir, Joel Anderson)
  • The Act of Killing (2013, dir. Joshua Oppenheimer)
  • Mud (2012, dir. Jeff Nichols)
  • Oslo, 31 August (2011, dir. Joachim Trier)
  • Where Do We Go Now? (2011, dir. Nadine Labaki)
  • Holy Motors (2012, dir. Leos Carax)
  • Blonde Venus (1932, dir. Josef von Sternberg)
  • McCullin (2012, dir. David and Jacqui Morris)
  • What Richard Did (2012, dir. Lenny Abrahamson)
  • The Kings of Summer (2013, dir. Jordan Vogt-Roberts)
  • Head On (2004, dir. Fatih Akin)
  • Bal (2010, dir. Semih Kaplanoğlu)

‘Twas also the year I ‘discovered’ Abbas Kiarostami. The man is, for want of a better word, a genius. I would highly recommend the following:abbas-kiarostami-05

  • Taste of Cherry (1997)
  • The Wind Will Carry Us (1999)
  • Like Someone in Love (2012)
  • Ten (2002)
  • Close Up (1990)
  • A Certified Copy (2010)
  • Shirin (2008)
10 thoughts on “My Favourites of 2013

      • I am. Not having my head in twitter has been a load off, though I do miss it from time to time, your wit* and goodself and a couple of other people. How’s you?

        *teenage sarcasm.

      • Ha, I believe sarcasm is deemed the lowest form of wit, especially the teenage variety…we’re all still there if you ever feel like dropping by. Be wary of some though, they can be poison. Take care Pheebs 🙂

    • I saw it at LFF, adored it then. I haven’t had a rewatch but at the moment it’s definitely included on my list for 2014, which is topped (currently) by a three-way tie of Inside Llewyn Davis, Stranger by the Lake and Under the Skin.

      Reply
      • I’m seeing Under The Skin this week… Only Lovers Left Alive again tonight. Was a bit dissapointed with Inside Llewyn Davis and Stranger by the Lake doesn’t appeal to me. I saw The Great Beauty for a third time at the cinema on Saturday, it’s now in my top ten ever now so so perfect… E ‘solo un trucco

Leave a Reply

